top of page
Search
Writer's picturechristina

An Experience Money Can't Buy

As I look around at my crew, I've noticed that every single person is from a different state and we all have different opinions on issues. However, we have all wound up here at Rocky Mountain Youth Corps. This makes me wonder, what makes people want to be here? It is not because of the money, or the work because many other jobs pay better and require less work. I think it is because we all have a connection to the outdoors.

"Wilderness to the people of America is a spiritual necessity, an antidote to the high pressure of modern life, a means of regaining serenity and equilibrium." -Sigurd Olson (1946)

I believe this quote applies to everyone. RMYC allows people to feel connected to the wilderness and grow as a person. Living ten weeks in a tent with people you just met along with 40 hours of work a week is a great way for people to try and overcome obstacles of daily life. I hope that many people in the future will join RMYC so that future generations will be able to enjoy the great outdoors as much as we do.





Comments


bottom of page