top of page
Search
Writer's picturearoscoe7

CC Bravo

I would consider myself an avid reader. There’s always a long list of books that I want to read. Thus, before starting as a member of RMYC, one of my questions was how much time and energy I would have to read.

I’m pleased to report that, in spite of the long and tiring workdays, I’ve found time to read during the week. A major boon of being in the wilderness so much of the time is that it is more difficult to distract myself. I cannot use a computer to look up questions that occur to me while reading, and therefore might gain greater focus. And, as it turns out, having the accumulated knowledge of humanity at your fingertips is not necessary to understand most books. Not only am I making good progress on the book I brought from home, there are also a handful of books provided by RMYC that live in the van and travel around with the crew. These books tend to be environmentally themed and their authors include the likes of Anne Carson and Wendell Berry. There are a few that I look forward to reading once I finish my current book.

I’ve found, however, that the most valuable things I’ve learned have come not from books but from my fellow crew members. An RMYC crew is composed of ten people with varied experiences and expertises, but a shared interest in conservation work. It’s very likely that you'll meet someone who knows something you are curious about. A little bit of somewhat formal training is mandated every week, and crew members will often use this to talk about something they know. But I find I’ve learned the most through simple conversation with my peers. I’ve learned about ecology, philosophy, agriculture, and other more practical things simply through talking with my fellow crew members. I’ve also gained a better understanding of myself, my goals, and what kind of life I want to lead.



Comments


bottom of page