top of page
Search
Writer's picturearoscoe7

CC Echo

I want to write a poem on dirt boogers.

When I'm working for hours under the hard sun, digging in the earth so deeply that dirt infiltrates every part of myself.

And makes blowing my nose a lot more exciting.


Want to write a poem on oatmeal.

When a bowl full of hot beige mush warms my body and wakes my mind in a frosted alpine morning.

The golden mountains painted by sunrise towering over me and my almond buttered oats.


I want to write a poem on making friends after months of isolation

When you experience real company after almost forgetting what it feels like. It's sometimes hard to recognize the absence of loneliness.


I want to write a poem on mountain lakes.

When my body hits the melt water and not even my Minnesota skin is ready for the chill. But I surrender to the freshwater sirens anyway.


I want to write a poem on a lot of things

But I can't

Out here, there are always too many poems to write

And not enough time

Or notebook space

To write them all down

And that's okay

Because out here, the poems write themselves.

Crystallized by mountain air into blisters and memories.



Comments


bottom of page