top of page
Search

To Mt Elbert, my darling, my love: CC ALPHA

By Katie


Glorious peak, resolute in stance

Stretching upwards, beckoning me

A soft caress of wind, I lean in

Elbert, she calls me and my heart quickens

The path unravels before me

I climb like a fish being reeled in

Transfixed by beautiful aspens

Towering conifers galore

My body is cotton, drawing it in

Lungs aching i sink to the ground

And the mountain swallows me whole

I am nothing in its vastness

Empty and broken, she sees me

I fold into myself, cowering

But the mountain reveals all

She opens me up like a wound

Vulnerable and weak i flounder

Slowly she fills me with strength and courage

Until I emerge one day whole

The bell jar lifts, fresh air rushes in

I breath out my old self

Transformed i leave my mountain

Eager to rejoin her again one day



Comments


bottom of page