top of page
Search
asteck

CREW HOTEL: wow so beautiful!

Updated: Jul 23, 2018

This past week was the 2nd week team charlie went out into the field to work in Dinosaur National Monument installing a barbed wire fence to seperate BLM land from National Monument land. Easily the best thing about our project was the remote location where we were working and camping in. It took over an hour of crawling over mountains in our van and getting huttled in a NPS truck to finally get to our destination.The scenery and atmosphere of the desert mountains which were surrounding us was absolutley breath taking. To be able to live and work in asuch a beautiful place was humbling , invigorating, and inspiring. The work was hard and at times very frustrating, but at the end of the days I always left feeling incredibly gratefulfor this incredible oppurtunity to experience some of the most beautiful places in our world.


I came to RMYC this season for many reasons, including to escape the nagging feeling of sttagnancy in my life, but also to pursue my dreams of working in the area of conservation. After the first four weeks the expectations of this experience have been far exceeded. Everyday since orientation has been an adventure in itself. Ive become more aware of myself and how i interact with other which has been incredibly eye opening and helpful. Ive become stronger, mentally and physically, by being in an environment that constantly challenges meto be better. Ive naturally become close with my crew which has allowed me to remove some walls ive built up over the past years. There have been heartfelt, satisfying laughs, good stories, shared frustrations, awkward moments, beautiful epiphanies, guitar playing, mosquito smacking, waterfall swimming, rock climbing, long hiking, friendship making, beautiful times shared.

I look forwar to so much in the remaining time I have left with my crew at RMYC. I know these memories will stay with me forever and im positive this experience will not only shift my outlook on life, but provide the clarity im seeking in where to go from here


-Kathryn




Comments


bottom of page