top of page
Search
adaves

Crew E: Rock Work!

Most of the non-bikers in the world have one unifying experience: a near heart attack from a biker that comes whizzing out of nowhere. Sadly, I must admit, I am one of those adrenaline-addicted mountain bikers that loves hitting the gnarr too fast. I have realized that oddly enough, not everyone likes having heart palpitations when I come zooming by. Let's just say that leaves me with a life-altering choice: should I be bored going too slow or should I slow down for others? To my dismay, I chose to go slower.


Luckily, the fortunate mountain bikers of Steamboat Springs don't have to suffer from making this torturous life decision anymore. They will soon have a second downhill-only mountain bike trail, where they can go as fast as their hearts desire. I am proud that my crew has been a part of this project with Routt County Riders (RCR), a local trail-building organization. The RCR members were some sweet mountain bikers to moved to Steamboat Springs to fulfill their life's goal of being a ski bum. Thus, we aimed for perfection. The trail had to flow, constructed with existing features like jumps and rock bridges.

My group was put on the task of rock work. This entailed lifting many heavy rocks. This I thought was hard until I saw the 800 lb. monstrous rock that had to be moved. Finally, with the combined efforts of six people, three rock bars, and a multitude of small leverage rocks, the gigantic rock was removed from the trail. Then we got to the fun part: puzzling the rocks together. In the end, we had made a beautifully constructed rock bridge that could be smoothly biked over by speedy bikers. Overall, this was an exciting project for my crew primarily because we got to meet some chill mountain bikers from RCR. We also learned a lot about the importance for mountain bikers to have their own downhill trail so hikers and bikers can both enjoy the outdoors.


Commentaires


bottom of page