top of page
Search
asteck

CREW HOTEL: #SOME1#BE#DRINKIN#DA#KOOLAID

In the past two weeks alone I have probably done 100 things that I never even would have considered before joining RMYC. I had never swung a pickax, crushed rocks, or clipped fencing. Never before had I hiked to work every day, never before had I grown accustomed to the "trail spice" (dirt) flavor that peppers many of our meals. I had never before woken to the sounds of wildlife, the smell of green plants and the fresh air, and 360 degree views of mountains and canyons just outside my thin mesh tent.But for all the new experiences that have challenged me and amazed me in the past 14 days the most powerful by far has been forging a team with my nine diverse, interesting, passionate crew members.


One experience with my crew that i will carry with me for the rest of our season was an impromptu "compliment circle" we had together after dinner this past week. What started as a brief positive feedback session from our crew leaders quickly turned into an opportunity for all of us to build one another up, giving voice to all the positive thoughts we held for our whole team. From being the first to volunteer for dishes to making an effort for everyone feel involved, to giving 100 percent effort on a tough hike, not one good thing went unappreciated. It made me feel good not only to hear what my teammates appreciated about me but also to have a space to wholeheartedly express how each of THEM brings value to the crew. No matter how much each of us struggled during our first couple of weeks, I think everyone went away from that circle feeling appreciated and accepted by the whole crew.

Before joining RMYC I had never been part of a team that was as willing to be themselves, as committed to creating an inclusive environment, and as motivated to do good in the world as my RMYC crew is, and it is this that brings meaning and value to the work we do and the time we spend together. Undoubtedly, this teamwork and camaraderie is (and will continue to be) the greatest new experience I gain at RMYC







Comments


bottom of page