top of page
Search
tmerrill

Day 19 of my capture.

"Rocky Mountain Youth Corps has been physically and mentally challenging. I expected RMYC to be quite difficult, but oh boy, I didn't expect this kind of torture. We have been forced to live in the harshest conditions, constantly running out of food and water, daily! The tools we had to work with weren't even sharp enough to do anything. I can't believe our crew leaders are human - I expected robots, with zero opinion or feeling. Crew members have fought for the last rations of food. Deciding who eats each day is much more stressful than I imagined. Joe and Bruno have resorted to bleaching their hair, multiple times. We have all suffered through the Sahara desert, barely making it out, the sand burned our flesh enough to eat it. We were also forced on this 6 mile hike, the top was a terrifying rock bridge that was very unstable. 600 foot drops on both sides of the trail made the temptation to push Chase, Joe, and Bruno off to their death on more than one occasion. Over all, these brutal conditions were worth it because I've met some really cool people, not sure how 6 of the 12 crew members survived, but I'm mostly glad I did. Do RMYC, it's super cool."



-Melissa Jensen, a member of the Session 4 Regional Service Crew

Comments


bottom of page