top of page
Search
asteck

DELTA:van got stuck

Having graduated college a mere 2 weeks ago, I joined RMYC to see the country, work with my hands and embrace some introspection. I have lived in the mid-west my whole life and had little to no trail work experience, so needless to say, its all new to me. Within these first two weeks we have camped in four new locations. Already I feel more fluid and at ease with tearing down and setting up camp. There is definitely enough hard work to go around and whenever there is a lull or a miscommunication it is an opportunity to practice my patience. So far I have loved meeting and bonding with my team, waking up early letting the days feel long, and sneaking off to run during free time to blow off steam and soak in the views. As an unexpected bonus I am learning a lot about land stewardship, conservation, and construction tools.


One of the most memorable moments for me was the very first day of work in the north sand hills outside of Walden Colorado. In general the area was extremely picturesque with tall dunes, aspen groves, pronghorns, a golden eagle, all the snow capped zirkles. We arrived on site early and pulled the vans into the shoulder to wait for our project partner. When the project partner arrived we tried to follow them but ended up getting stuck in the sand! We tried everything to get our van out, we tried putting sticks under the tires, digging out the tires with a shovel, to unloading the trailer to get it out. After trying all of that the BLM guys ended up just towing us out. I was smiling the whole time because that was our first test as a group.








댓글


bottom of page