top of page
Search
adaves

Fall Crew 1: Facing Fears and Climbing Mountains

This past weekend the crew decided to take a backpacking trip to Upper Cataract Lake in Eagle's Nest Wilderness. It was my very first backpacking trip ever, and definitely one for the books. I was so grateful to have shared such an experience with my new trail family that I have found at RMYC in these few weeks.


The 6.5 mile hike was tiring but rewarding. When we finally arrived at Upper Cataract Lake the trail delivered a worthy view - walking right along an exposed piece of trail that overlooked the lake from high above. We enjoyed skipping stones in the lake that evening, sunset cooking, and our first campfire of the season.

It was the next day however, that was the most memorable to me. We decided to go on a sunrise hike the next morning up the side of a 13er that overlooked the lake, starting at 4:30am. I remember at some point, I turned around to take in the view of the sun rising over the lake, which was like a glass mirror reflecting the warm colors of the sunrise, and seemed to drop into nothingness at its far end. It was the most beautiful view I've ever seen.


Eventually we inevitably split into two groups - team full send up the cliff, and those of us who decided that the rock scramble was too intense and that we'd turn around. We climbed down, taking a detour down to a small alpine lake with crystal clear blue water. We slowly meandered our way down the side of a waterfall, eventually making it back to the base of the mountain.

Although the landscape was breathtaking, there are two things I won't forget about the hike that day. One is the raw fear and emotions I faced. Climbing up the side of a steep mountainside has a way of getting me to face head-on my fears, sadness, worries, and negative experiences in my life that I'm still holding onto. The physical challenge and beauty of nature brings everything to the surface - and I cried a lot during that hike. Like more crying than I thought was possible.


But more importantly, I loved seeing the way that we all helped each other on that hike. I wasn't the only one facing my fears, and it lifted my spirits seeing my new friends help each other out getting up and down that mountain. We were definitely feeling the love. I feel so grateful to have been put on a crew that prioritizes being there for each other, being present physically and emotionally, just because we want to.


Comments


bottom of page