top of page
Search
Writer's picturechristina

Marching into the unknown...



My first week serving with RMYC was an incredible experience. I joined the program to be able to immerse myself in nature, learn more, hone my skills, and meet some new people. Already, my expectations have been exceeded. The work is physically challenging, most definitely, but the sense of accomplishment when we all work together to complete a common goal makes it all worth it. Our first project was improving over a mile of drainage ditch to be used to redirect water from a stream to improve and maintain a wildlife habitat in the area. I was particularly excited to learn that the ditch we worked on was originally constructed in the 1890's. On the first weekend the physical challenge did not stop, as we chose to hike a fourteener (a peak above 14,000 ft), which was a first for most of the crew, but once again the feeling when we summitted made the difficulty all worth it. What has made the largest impact on my experience here thus far is definitely the companionship and camaraderie amongst our crew. I am honored to work, serve, and explore alongside such a diverse yet like-minded, absolutely awesome group of young adults.


-Laura Hyde

Crew INDIGO

June 2018


Comments


bottom of page